14 jun 2014

Carnival Star – Era Sessions EP

Era Sessions EP is Carnival Stars second release, and behind this project or band is ProducerMark from Scottland. The idea behind Carnival Star is to cooperate with other bands and musicians around the world. ProducerMark is the person, like the spider in the web who produce and write the music and connect the songs with the people out there. Some of the guitars on this album is played by Liquid Grey and bas Cruel Britannia.

Era Sessions EP is a tribute to bands from the past, it is a record filled with five different covers and finally a remix by Cruel Britannia of Union City Blue (Blondie). On this EP we can find ProducerMark and five different personalities around the world, contribute by singing and playing.

Union City Blue by Blondie, now vocals by Allegra Lusini from Italy.
Velveteen by Rose Of Avalanche, ProducerMark sings on this one.
Walk Away by Sisters Of Mercy, now vocals by Liquid Grey from Norway.
The Drowning Man by The Cure, now vocals by Zach Wiser who is a member of The Secret Post.
What Difference Does It Make by The Smiths, now vocals by Captain T from The Sovran.

It is a nice production of classical songs in a new package. I think this is something that everyone should check out. My favorite songs here are Velveteen and The Drowning Man.

And, don´t forget to check out Carnival Stars single, with My Coreen and Black Rain Down. Released in the end of 2013.

13 jun 2014

The One2s - Any Other Time But Now

New upload to GothtuneTV channel.

Consisting of members of Leiana (EMI) and Big Crowd Popular, The One2s create a shoegaze, brit-pop, punk influenced sound all their own.



8 jun 2014

Gothtune Podcast #26

Gothtune Podcast #26 is up at onairtunes and itunes. You can also hear it over Deadair Radio.

01 - Gothtune - Jingle
02 - Reptyle - Morning heir
03 - Carnival Star - Velveteen (Rose of Avalanche Cover)
04 - Liquid Grey - Dance Alone
05 - Horror Vacui - 5000
06 - Big Bug - Basement Stairs
07 - The Stompcrash - Love From Hell
08 - Gazar Strips - Sparking
09 - The Lake - Wingless and Earthbound
10 - La Ciencia - Ofelia
11 - The One2s - Any Other Time
12 - Death Party UK - The Cars of Life
13 - Passion Slaves - Mortal Coils (Demo)
14 - Still Patient? - All Is Well
15 - Swans - Screen Shot

Listen here!

5 jun 2014

Liquid Grey - Hunger

New music video by Liquid Grey - Hunger is uploaded to Gothtune TV channel at Youtube. This song is taken from Liquid Greys new album Arsenic Dreams.

31 maj 2014

Reptyle – Night and the river

The German Gothic Rock band Reptyle formed 1998 and now they released their third full length album, Night And The River. Ten songs for about 50 minutes.
I always had a passion for bands from Germany, especially in the 90´s era. I think there is something different in their musical influences, they can do weird stuff with a twist, especially when it comes to music. And Night And The River is a crazy record that takes you for a journey with a musical discovery. I would category this album as a Heavy Progressive Gothic Rock album. Yes, their music is progressive and the songs are not built up in traditional orders. It reminding me of the 80´s when I were much into German Thrash Metal, but this is not Metal, it is Gothic Rock with a twist, and it is fantastic.

Reptyle brings something new to Gothic Rock, a progressive version who might be hard for some folks to take. And there is a punk / hardcore attitude, especially in the vocals. I fell in love with many of their songs at once. However, this album takes or need more than one time to listen to. And it is a grooving album, and those used to stays for a longer time in my speakers.

The track Ways Of Fate is instrumental and more than 6 minutes long. Here they mix a kind of abstract guitar riff together with very melodic line with much atmosphere. It is a very progressive track where Reptyle really show that they also are great musicians.

I think it is a great record. One of the better releases for a long time. Reptyle have brought something specially to the Gothic scene, they got their own style and I hope they keep it into the future too. Some of my favorite songs, Morning Heir, Night And The River, Rose Imperial, Pictures That Stay.

Taken from Dark Reviews

18 maj 2014

Video: Carnival Star - Velveteen

Taken from the "Era Sessions EP" - Velveteen is one of five covers featuring 5 bands and 5 albums from the late 70's and early 80's.

The EP features vocalists and musicians from various countries. Released as a tribute to those bands and musicians who remain a strong influence in the music of others around the world.


"Just heard Carnival Star's cover of one of my old songs. At first I thought it was the fucking original..."

"Carnival Star's version of Velveteen evoked an epoch of good memories that I had almost forgotten... The song was born from one of my simple chord sequence that was meant to go round and round and hypnotise the listener. Live it grew to become a real corker!
Cheers Carnival Star for the trip!"

Paul James Berry 2014
Founder & Guitarist - The Rose of Avalanche




The "Era Sessions EP" was recorded in various countries around the world with various musicians taking part during a five month period.

Scotland, England, Italy, Norway & USA to be exact.

The original concept behind recording these covers was simply for entertainment and to take a break from the recording and writing of the original album material for future release.

However, it soon became clear that the fun was producing some interesting results and that these tracks should go out for free as a tribute to the bands that many of us in Carnival Star regard as influences and inspirations to all of our music.

Staying true to the arrangements of the originals, our aim was to simply take the tracks and produce an EP that we enjoyed making and performing.
released 11 May 2014
Recorded in Scotland, England, Italy, Norway & USA

Union City Blue (Blondie Cover) - Vocals Allegra Lusini - Written by Nigel Harrison / Debbie Harry
Velveteen (Rose of Avalanche Cover) - Vocals ProducerMark - Written by Paul J. Berry / Glenn Schultz / Philip Morris
Walk Away (Sisters of Mercy Cover) - Vocals Liquid Grey - Written by Andrew Eldritch / Wayne Hussey
The Drowning Man (The Cure Cover) - Vocals Zach Wiser (The Secret Post) - Written by Laurence Tolhurst / Robert Smith / Simon Gallup
What Difference Does It Make (The Smiths Cover) - Vocals Captain T (The Sovran) - Written by Johnny Marr / Morrissey

Bonus Track - UCB Cruel Brit Mix - Vocals Allegra Lusini - Written by Nigel Harrison / Debbie Harry - Re-mixed by Cruel Britannia

Music recorded and performed by ProducerMark
Co-produced by Liquid Grey
Remote Engineered by Cruel Britannia
Vocals recorded on location by the performers

Additional Guitars Liquid Grey
Bass Guitar Cruel Britannia

Artwork - A Self Portrait - original art by Natassa Dialisma /Greece

Special thanks to all those who took part and also to those who didn't but played a vital part : Daniel Dante (Madness of the Night) - Paul B Blues (OnAir Tunes) - Ann Marie Papanagnostou (Fourculture) - Marc Joy (Ear to Ear Records) - Vru Patel (Solarein) - Shauna McLarnon (Ummagma)

16 maj 2014

Liquid Grey - Arsenic Dreams

A new review is up at Dark Reviews, this time it is Liquid Grey´s new album Arsenic Dreams. Read more about this here!